The Song

Songwriting and recording 2013 The 2014 Songwriting Competition is now closed. Music: Count Us In offers a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for talented young people to have their song sung by over half a million students. 104 talented students submitted their songs. The entries will now be judged by a panel of experts including program ambassador, John Foreman, music educator, Margie Moore, MCA Chair, Michael Smellie and Program Director, Maeve Marsden. Next week, a small group of talented students will find out they've been selected to co-write the song that stops the nation!

Songwriting search

In 2013, four students from around Australia were selected to work with mentor, Katie Noonan, and Program Ambassador, John Foreman. They spent an intense day working together at AMEB Queensland, combing the ideas, melodies and lyrics of their submissions to create a wonderful upbeat tune about working hard to achieve your dreams. Those students were:

  • Aidan Rolfe, Year 12, Kardinia International College, VIC
  • Abbey Slattery, Year 9, Penleigh and Essenden Grammar School, VIC
  • Holly Winter, Year 10, Emmaus Christian College, SA
  • Ritchell Lim, Year 12, Canning Vale College, WA

Congratulations also to the following students. Judges awarded them high commendations for their excellent submissions in the songwriting search:

  • Trinitie Fazaah, Year 7, Stormfront Music Tutoring, WA
  • Reyne Durrant, Year 10, Albany Senior High School, WA
  • Brianna Hawkins-Cain, Year 10, Toormina High School, NSW
  • Isabel Estephan, Year 11, St Patrick's College Campbelltown, NSW
  • Oliver Ditcham, Year 9, St Aloysius Catholic College, TAS
  • Merinda Dias-Jayasinha and Claudia Cameron, Year 11, Brisbane Girls Grammar School, QLD
  • Nathan Wendt, Year 11, John Paul College, NSW
  • Nicole Gardin, Year 11, Millicent High School, SA
  • Maral Ghamkhar, Year 9, Box Hill High School, VICKeep On was recorded at Allan Eaton Studios in Melbourne and Trackdown Studios in Sydney! Students from Princes Hill Secondary College contributed backing vocals, keys, bass, guitar and drums, and the amazingly talented Darren Percival performed lead vocals.

Song recording

The students were mentored by Program Ambassador John Foreman, along with Gerry Pantazis (drums), Craig Newman (bass) and Simon Patterson (guitar). Students performing on the recording are:

  • Pelaya Arapakis (drums)
  • Ronan Nicholson (bass)
  • Connor Harry-Blackall (guitar and vocals)
  • Elliott Jenkins (keys)
  • Gabriel Askew, Susannah Laurence, Dominique Salvatore, Moritz Commichau, Thea Lang (vocals)

To stay in touch and be notified when next year's competition is open for entries, sign up to the Music: Play for Life enewsletter.

Learn about the 2012 song, Different People (Stand Together)

mpfl-logoMusic: Play for Life is the Music Council of Australia's grassroots campaign to get more Australians making music: in schools, communities, everywhere.

Visit Music: Play For Life

mca-logoMusic Council of Australia brings together all sections of the music community in order to advance a diverse and vibrant musical life throughout Australia.

Visit Music Council of Australia